Day 231

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Today’s the day for the Best Beauty Box Ever unboxing! I will admit I did receive this yesterday, but it didn’t make it as the photo of the day because I was waiting to unbox it with my sister who I went halves with in purchasing it. Be prepared … this is a long post compared to the usual photo-centred post.

For those not in the know, the Best Beauty Box Ever is a brand new subscription-but-not-subscription beauty box created by Beauty Review (a New Zealand beauty product review website). The idea of it is that you are not locked into a subscription (rather you just purchase a box whenever you want one), they are made up of full-size products and that all products are readily available (in New Zealand). Unfortunately, it is currently only available in NZ, but it may in the future be available elsewhere (just keep an eye on the website and your fingers crossed).

Now for the nitty gritty – the box cost $97 NZD. Yes, it is rather pricey. Hence, I went halves with my sister (of which it was lucky it was super easy to split, not fighting needed). For your $97, you get $287.59 worth of current, full-size products. In this sense, it really is great value for money. This boxes theme was NZ Beauty Brands – all of which are cruelty free! Total bonus!

What did it contain (check out today’s photo):

  • Trilogy Hydrating Mist Toner
  • Moisture Mist Gentle Cleansing Foam
  • Skinfood Mud Masque
  • Only Good Natural Body Wash
  • Living Nature Radiance Night Oil
  • Karen Murrell Lipstick (mine is in the shade Fushia Shock 07)
  • Mellow Baked Eyeshadow (mine is in the shade Jade)
  • Oasis Super Tan
  • Living Light Candles (mine is in the scent Pohutukawa)
  • Olive Pomegranate Body Lotion
  • Moreish Daily Redemption Day Cream

Not looking quite so bad for $97 now, huh?!

In splitting the box with my sister, I grabbed: the Moisture Mist Gentle Cleansing Foam, Karen Murrell Lipstick, Mellow Baked Eyeshadow, Oasis Super Tan, Living Light Candle and Olive Pomegranate Body Lotion. Not quite half, but my sister took the higher priced items and wanted me to have the extra item. I am super excited to try the lipstick and eyeshadow (have never heard of the Mellow brand before but the eyeshadow looks amazing). And really, I could really do with the fake tan right about now (NZ sun just burns so I am being super sun smart this year … which means I am pale … very pale). I also have a thing for candles lately; they are so relaxing to watch and make the house smell amazing, so am super excited to have another candle to add to the collection!

I have actually already used the Skinfood mud masque – it didn’t really do a lot for me apart from making my skin feel uber clean (as any mask does) so I left that for my sister to try out. I also already have a Moreish day cream put away to use when I run out of my current moisturisers – so again, left that for my sister to try (no point in having two of them). My favourite thing about this box is it contains products I never would have otherwise try; they are different brands (some I have never heard of), products normally bought online or just the kind of packaging I wouldn’t normally pick up off the shelf. If you are keen to try one of these boxes, I would totally recommend it. It is a little out of my usual price range and if this is the case for you I would recommend splitting it with someone – they are too good value to miss out on altogether!

To the kiwi’s out there – did you manage to grab a box? If not, you should totally have a look on their website – I think they may still have a few left. The next box is also coming out soon and it is themed around eyes (so I am guessing eyeshadows, eyeliners, mascaras and brushes) and I am tossing up whether or not to get one (a head vs. heart decision, I tell you)! To the non-kiwi’s, do you subscribe to any subscription boxes that are really awesome? Or has anyone given any of these products a try?

Leave a Reply

