Some Pretty Good Cupcakes…

I have a secret. I don’t like to brag, but I make so pretty good cupcakes. If you are a follower of this blog, you probably already know that I LOVE baking. Not the biggest fan of eating it all, but baking is the greatest stress reliever there is (well, besides organising and tidying things unnecessarily). 

The latest stress baking result: vanilla cupcakes with Nutella butter cream frosting. I always stick with a tried and true, simple plain cupcake from the kiwi-staple Edmunds Cookbook. This recipe has never failed me and allows for whatever frosting you want. I personally find a flavoured cupcake and flavoured frosting is just too sweet and usually tastes pretty average. Whereas sticking with a simple vanilla cupcake always does the trick! 

The Nutella buttercream compliments the plain cupcake and is so easy to make. Just a regular, simple buttercream (butter and icing sugar) with a generous helping of Nutella to flavour. Simple! And loved by my workmates. I think the only way I seem to get my workmates to come and say hello anymore is if they know I have baking! Either way, I haven’t had so many people come to say hello in a long time!

The point I’m getting to in this post is this: simple is best! Every time! I love baking but hate seeing people trying out strange and difficult recipes when they can’t seem to master the simple ones. And as pretty as fancy recipes (especially with cupcakes) are, they oftentimes are a little disappointing in their taste. Stick with the simplest things; master them and blow everyone’s expectations out of the water!

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

